## **Welfare Reform Programme Board**

## **Terms of Reference Appendix 1**

### 1. Aim

To oversee the development and successful implementation of Flintshire's Welfare Reform Strategy, comprising of four projects that collectively aim to mitigate the full negative impacts and enhance the positives of the welfare reforms upon residents, local communities, local authority, partner organisations, local businesses, etc.

#### 2. Objectives

The Welfare Reform Programme Board will support and advise on the:

- a. Development, of the work-streams that will have to be undertaken in order for the aims of Welfare Reform Strategy to be attained within the specified time limits.
- b. Appropriate resources to be available in order for the actions within the work-streams to be successfully implemented.
- c. Implementation and management of an effective communication strategy that will ensure the sensitive and potentially contentious issues, which will be need to be addressed during the implementation of the work-streams, are communicated to and, as necessary, consulted upon by all stakeholders in a manner that is accessible and transparent.
- d. Identification and classification of risks to work-streams and/or stakeholders that are generated during the implementation of the changes within the Welfare Reform Act 2012 (and additional reforms) and to, as far as practical, mitigate risk by implementing appropriate controls and/or introducing variations to the work-streams.
- e. The Board will provide progress reports to the County Council, Flintshire Local Service Board and all other interested parties.

#### 3. Frequency of Meetings

The Programme Board will meet every 6 weeks or as appropriate. The frequency of meetings will be subject to periodic review by the Board.

## 4. Welfare Reform Board - Membership:

Name	Designation
Cllr Aaron Shotton (Chair)	Leader of the Council & Cabinet Member for Finance
2. Cllr Bernie Attridge	Deputy Leader of the Council & Cabinet Member for Environment
3. Cllr Chris Bithell	Cabinet Member for Education
4. Cllr Helen Brown	Cabinet Member for Housing
5. Cllr Christine Jones	Cabinet Member for Social Services
6. Cllr Kevin Jones	Cabinet Member for Public Protection, Waste & Recycling
7. Cllr Peter Macfarlane	Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Enterprise & Leisure
8. Cllr Billy Mullin	Cabinet Member for Corporate Management
9. Cllr Clive Carver	Leader of the Conservative Group
10. Cllr Robin Guest	Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group
11. Cllr Patrick Heesom	Leader of the New Independents Group
12. Cllr Mike Peers	Acting Leader of the Independent Alliance Group
13. Cllr Tony Sharps	Leader of the Independent Group
14. Nicola Bellis	Jobcentre Plus – North Wales
15. Kieran Duff	CEO - Flintshire Local Volunteer Council
16. Salli Edwards	CEO - Flintshire Citizen Advice
17. Colin Everett	CEO - Flintshire County Council
18. Karen Armstrong	Policy, Performance & Partnerships Manager, Flintshire County Council
19. Clare Budden	Head of Housing, Flintshire County Council
20. Rachael Byrne	Enterprise Flintshire, Flintshire County Council
21. Chris Guest	Head of ICT & Customer Services, Flintshire County Council
22. Kerry Feather	Head of Finance, Flintshire County Council

# Welfare Reform Programme

23. Dave Heggarty	Head of Regeneration, Flintshire County Council
24. Jonathan Edwards (Observer)	Service Development Manager (Wrexham County Council)
25. Health Representative	To be invited



## 5. Welfare Reform Programme Board - Structure

